John Calder Memorial Award

This prize was awarded annually from 1998 to 2008 to the best basic science paper presented by a trainee at the Summer Scientific Meeting of the Association annually.  

Past Winners

 1998 A Hazari  Nerve repair using a new bioabsorbable synthetic conduit 
 1999 C J M Milroy  Predicting adverse outcome in basal cell carcinoma 
 2000 A M Hart  Time-course of sensory neuronal cell death after peripheral nerve injury: implications for the timing of nerve repair 
 2001 O Shelley Burn injury causes suppression of innate immune function and resultant enhanced mortality from polymicrobia sepsis 
 2002 R Harrison  Flexor tendon avascular zones- fact or fiction? Precise mapping of human flexor tendon vasculature 
 2003 A Greig  A potential new therapy for treatment of non-melanoma skin cancer- P2x7 receptor agonists 
 2004 J Lohn  Incidence of variations in the course, branching and symmetry of the facial artery and vein in humans: Implications for facial transplantation 
 2005 S M Gore  Neuronal differentiation in basal cell carcinoma 
2006 A Fox  A rapid mobilisation of endothelial progenitor cells to the circulation correlates with angiogenic cytokines and severity of injury in burns patients 
2007 K T Power  Gap junction communication and enhancing fibroblast migration in wound healing 

A McKenna  After major injury regulatory t-cells control the development of SIRS and MODS from a 'second-hit 
2008 K T Tan  Immunohistolocalisation of hyaluronan, TSG-6 and inter-alpha-inhibitor in breast implant capsules